The future is tired. It had a long flight.

*the following is my (almost) verbatim reply to a coworker in response to an article in Wired magazine about the new breed of DHS drones.

When I was in the 5th grade, I couldn’t wait to read Popular Science each month.

Not only for the articles, but for the “What’s New” feature, usually located near the center of the magazine. And typically the item was exciting on its own, but sometimes my space-bound imagination would turn the “thing” into a moon cruiser, or a spaceship, or a robot suit, or whatever. This was the era of coffee table books featuring sci-fi pulp covers and *good album art.

What I’m getting at is that one had to LOOK for futuristic inspiration. In the 9th grade, I started an apprenticeship in our school’s graphic arts program where I studied to be a printer. (Three years of paper cuts, darkroom work and getting bombed on developer/fixer to the lush sounds of Black Sabbath, scrubbing ink out from under my nails every day, and obsessive font worship made instantly Dinosaur by the desktop publishing revolution just one year later!) There were stacks of art books just lying around the shop, and I’d flip through them looking for glimpses of the future. I used to tear out the pages and hoard them away. I was searching for something tangible.

(Insert 20 years of sci-fi movies, books, television shows, comics, toys, and mirroring advancements in science, technology and communications)

It’s now 2013. I have often said that the future will be here in five minutes, but fuck it – the future is here. It’s sitting across from me sipping a fucking latte and judging my Twitter feed. I don’t think 5th-grade me had any idea what the future would really hold. I don’t care that law-enforcement drones are flying overhead, or swimming around in our ports, or crawling through the earth looking for pot tunnels. Because I don’t do anything (*anymore) that would warrant their attention. And while I’m still mystified and in awe of technology, I expect it. I almost ignore it.

Because reality has caught up with my imagination. And that SUCKS.

TWM out

One thought on “The future is tired. It had a long flight.

  1. Reality caught up with YOUR imagination? Pish posh! Maybe you just need some new perspective….Put a Zepplin record on and play it backwards, lay on the floor and stretch your feet up to your desk – paint faces on the bottom of your boots and make them greet and argue with anyone who walks into your office. Plant seeds and watch them grow. It’s pretty fucking amazing actually. Get a little duckling, let it imprint on you and follow you to work every day. Lay in the grass and stare at the stars, rename them all, give them new stories, don’t leave until you’ve figured out a new celestial navigation technique. Do whatever you gotta do to get 10 year old TWM back up in your face about moon cruisers and C3P0 knocking on your door and offering you a pepperoni pizza and glass of frothy root beer. The only thing I caution you to stay away from is turtles – they give you salmonella….but that’s neither here nor there, it’s just true. The point is, reality has a long way to go….we don’t have moon cruisers and our prosthetic appendages are no where near where they were on Star Wars and did you know that people who are direct decedents from Europeans who survived The Bubonic Plague are immune to HIV? And if there isn’t research being done with Plague to cure/immunize against HIV, I wanna know why! But I kinda bet there is….somewhere. Why? Because there will always be a bigger, badder bacteria. A new arch enemy. One more final final frontier. Forget popular science. Write your own science. The future isn’t tired because that bitch hasn’t showed up yet. She’s still trying to chase down fiction. Chuck the latte and write a fiction that the future can’t wait to get a hold of. Just don’t make it too dark. Some of us are freaking optimists, ok?

    I love it.

Leave a Reply

